4 years ago

Dirt and Trail July 2018 issue 2

  • Text
  • Durability
  • Bikes
  • Riders
  • Suspension
  • Enduro
  • Motorcycles
  • Models
  • Racing
  • Clutch
  • Trophy

Pics by Zygmund Brodalka

Pics by Zygmund Brodalka Start of MX 1 Bloem Booms to With four holeshots and four victories, Caleb Tennant was dominant at the third round of the 2018 TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship at BORC in Bloemfontein. There were big fights behind him though, most notably in MX1, the one between his team mate Maddy Malan, Kerim Fitz- Gerald and Jayden Ashwell in heat one. Heat 2 saw 2017 MX1 Champion Tristan Purdon come through for a 2nd place ahead of Malan. The MX2 Class saw some of the best action of the day with a close battle between Kerim Fitz-Gerald and David Goosen for 2nd and 3rd place. Ride of the day arguably came from Nic Adams who came out of the first turn twice in second place behind Tennant, but unfortunately just couldn’t hang on to the usual suspects. Husqvarna SA’S Caleb Tennent took overall in both MX 1 and MX 2. Caleb set the fastest lap times in both classes and led from the gate drop till the checkers KOM MAAK N DRAAI,ONS PRAAT OOK ENGELS

National Motorcross Proudly Brought to you by: Monster Energy Yamaha’s David Goosen life! Race two also saw a possible new threat coming to the front in the form of Slade Smith who ran third for most of the race but just couldn’t fight off the epic battle behind him between Joshua Mlimi, Fitz-Gerald, Purdon, Anthony Raynard and Bradley Cox. The MX3 Class saw Dewald van der Berg take 1-1 to close the gap between himself and Ian Topliss. In the Ladies Class, Leah Heygate took the win ahead of her championship rival Kayla Raaff. Amy Sawyer took 3rd in Heat 1 but crashed in Heat 2 allowing Jenna Bohling a chance to get onto the Ladies podium. In the High School Class it was all about Dalton Venter in race 1 to beat out Reagan Wasmuth and Justin Sangster. Heat 2 was a rerun of the first heat and Venter held out for great 1-1 overall. Joshua De Hutton lead Pro Mini by a long way in race 1 but a small mistake cost him the win which went to Dylan Kirk. Race 2 was about the come back of championship leader Jonathan Mlimi followed by Kirk and Blake Young. Kirk took the overall after a solid 1-2. Husqvarna SA’s Maddy Malan Red Bull KTM South Africa’s Kerim Fitz-gerald Willow Rock Shopping Centre, Solomon Mahlangu Drive, Equestria, Pretoria East LANDLINE: 012 111 0190 / 012 809 1670