2 years ago

Dirt and Trail Dec 2019

  • Text
  • Triumph
  • Bmw
  • Ducati
  • Kawasaki
  • Beta
  • Polaris
  • Am
  • Suzuki
  • Quads
  • Enduro
  • Motocross
  • Honda
  • Ktm
  • Bikes
  • Riders
  • Yamaha
  • Racing
  • Championship
  • Husqvarna
  • Rider
South Africas Enduro, Adventure and MX magazine.

NATIONAL MX Pics by Zygs

NATIONAL MX Pics by Zygs Brodalka.Natasha Rugani and wildcard MeganJonker.Behind them, Jadene de Lima, TieganReed, Cheyenne de Lima and JennaBohling fought to the last corner. Jadenefollowed Tiegan home to take it by apoint, with Jenna fifth in the title another2 points adrift.125 High School:Camden Mc Lellan took the opening 125High School win from Jonathan Mlimi,Christiaan Cilliers and Miguel de Waalafter newly crowned SA champion DaltonVenter slumped to tenth, leaving CalvinJean-Jacques and Arnu Saaiman to closeoff the top six.The second race returned the same topthree as McLellan led Mlimi and Cilliershome, with Jean-Jacque Saaiman and deWaal next up as Saaiman secured 2nd inthe championship from Cilliers, TravisGoosen and Thabo Verster.The most Epic battle down to the wirewas between these two MX3 riders TysonEngelbrecht(12) and Ian Topliss (12)85 Pro Mini.Championship leader Leonard du Toitmade no mistakes as he beat his titlerival Blake Young to the opening 85cc ProMini win to open his title advantage to 11points ahead of the finale with Dylan Kirk,Wesley McGavin, Nate Mc Lellan, WesleyMcGavin and Luke Grundy next up. DuToit then wrapped it up with anotherwin over Young, Lucas Venter, McLellan,McGavin and Luke Grundy , leavingLeonard du Toit 85cc Junior championover Young and McLellan.85 Juniors:Zims Emmanuel Bako took the opening85cc Junior race from Seth Young, whoopened his title lead to 15 points overDeegan Bloomfield, James Thompson,Timo Maxino Toepfer, Tristan Durow andJoshua Williams.Bako did not start heat 2, leaving Youngto win from Williams, Toepfer, Ryan Adlerand Blake Osner, as Young took the titlefrom Bloomfield, Bako and Toepfer.65cc:Neil van der Vyver rode to a dominantfirst 65cc moto win to wrap up thechampionship.Neil’s job was made easier when Trey Cox,Thor Johnson and Damon Garrell beattitle rival Liam Botha to fifth and third inthe chase. Cox closed to within 6 points ofBotha with one moto still to race.Van der Vyver then closed his nationalseason off with a double win for the dayahead of Cox, Johnson, Jack Pullen andBlade Tilley, but there was drama whenBotha did not score leaving Cox to jumpinto second in the championship aheadof Botha and Van Wyk.Ladies Champion Kayla Raaff125 High School class withChristiaan Cilliers (39) outwith the holeshot

50cc:The 50cc finale proved another sting in theChampionship tail as Christian BerringtonSmith rode to a double moto wins over ChaseBekker, Jake Pretorius and Cruz Martin, whilethe championship leaders struggled withleader Ethan Williamson ending ninth, andsecond man Jake van Schoor only seventh.This means that Williamson is the 2019champion from van Schoor, Berrington-Smith,Keenan Strauss, Pretorius and Bekker.It’s been an awesome year ofnational MX Racing:Thank you to Bikewise and the guys from MotulSouth Africa for making the pages in Dirt AndTrail Magazine possible. Thank you to ZygmundBrodalka for all the cool pics – and, with a bit ofluck, we’ll see you all again for the 2020 season!2019 SA Motocross Nationals TerraTopia Results:MX1Awaiting MSA’s decision.MX21st Slade Smith2nd Anthony Raynard3rd Kerim Fitz-GeraldMX31st Ian Topliss2nd Tyson Engelbrecht3rd Brett BircherLadies1st Kayla Raaff2nd Natasha Rugani3rd Megan JonkerLeonard Du Toit Pro Mini South AfricanChampion. Full feature on him in the Jan issue.Seth Young85cc JuniorSouth AfricanChampionSpecial Yamahaguest RV didsome lapsduring lunch125cc Highschool1st Camden Mc Lellen2nd Jono Mlimi3rd Christiaan Cilliers85cc Pro Mini1st Leonard du Toit2nd lake Young3rd Dylan Kirk85cc Juniors1st Seth Young2nd James Thompson3rd Timo Maximo Toepfer65cc1st Neil van der Vyver2nd Trey Cox3rd Thor JohnsonThe start of the 65cc racewith Trey Cox out front.Neil van Der Vyverafter the first 65ccMoto and wining the65cc Championship50cc1st Christian Berrington Smith2nd Chase Bekker3rd Jake PretoriusLeft: Ethan Williamson (171) at the start of the 50cc Moto behind Brody Bircher.Right: South African 50cc Champion Ethan Williamson